Ir al contenido principal

Agosto-Septiembre: Romano. A Very Short History of Being Oneself

"A Very Short History of Being Oneself: Theological, Philosophical and Aesthetic Perspectives Explore a different reading of the history of Western philosophy, away from the great metaphysics of the ego or subjectivity, and taking the path less travelled: an inquiry into forms of life and modes of existence.
Join us for a series of 10 webinars featuring the recent recipient of the Grand Prix de Philosophie, Professor Claude Romano, and an exciting line-up of Australian and international conversation partners."

Dates
August and September 2021 (see details in table below) 

Time
4 – 5 pm (SYD/MEL/BNE)
8 – 9 am (Paris) (view a different time zone)

Registration: Registration is essential

Webinar topics
  • Monday 16 August. Introduction: When and why does the ideal of authenticity emerge?
  • Thursday 19 August. Magnanimity and the virtue of the man who is himself (authekastos) in Aristotle
  • Monday 23 August. Stoic virtue and stoic truthfulness
  • Thursday 26 August. Cicero and the doctrine of the four roles (personae)
  • Monday 30 August. Naturalness in ancient rhetoric
  • Thursday 2 September. Saint Augustine on making the truth in one’s life
  • Monday 6 September. Social grace as unity with oneself and with others: Castiglione
  • Thursday 9 September. Naturalness as perfect freedom in Montaigne
  • Monday 13 September. Personal truth (and falsity) according to the French Moralists
  • Thursday 16 September. Rousseau and the revolution of authentic city